

2023 Kennedy Award Winners

ALL MEDIA

2023 Kennedy Awards Journalist of the Year

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros - The Australian Financial Review

Lifetime Achievement Award

Laurie Oakes

The John Newfong Award for Indigenous Affairs Reporting

Carrie Fellner, Katrina McGowan, Mat Cornwell and Rhett Wyman - Paradise Poisoned - The Sydney Morning Herald

The Vince O'Farrell Award for Outstanding Cartoon

Cathy Wilcox - Don't Look, Becky - The Sydney Morning Herald and The Age

Outstanding Consumer Affairs Reporting

Emily Baker, Amy Donaldson and Madeleine King - Do No Harm - Four Corners, ABC

Outstanding Court and Legal Affairs Reporting

Nina Funnell, Lisa Muxworthy, Kerry Warren and Riah Matthews - Justice Shouldn't Hurt - news.com.au

The Les Kennedy Award for Outstanding Crime Reporting

Tara Brown and Naomi Shivaraman - PRESUMED EVIL & FALSELY ACCUSED - An incomplete investigation that destroyed a good cop's life - 60 Minutes, Nine

Outstanding Finance Reporting

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros - PwC Tax Leaks Scandal - The Australian Financial Review

The Tom Krause Award for Outstanding Foreign Correspondent

Eryk Bagshaw and Natalie Clancy - Kidnapped in Japan - 60 Minutes, Nine

Outstanding Investigative Reporting

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros - PwC Tax Leaks Scandal - The Australian Financial Review

Outstanding Online News Breaking

Clementine Cuneo, Josh Hanrahan, Dan Proudman, John Rolfe and Tamaryn McGregor - Wedding Bus Tragedy - www.dailytelegraph.com.au

Outstanding Political Reporting

Lucy Cormack, Tom Rabe, Alexandra Smith and Jordan Baker - Game Over for Lobbyist after "Catholic Gut" Comment - The Sydney Morning Herald

Outstanding Reporting on Human Rights, Social or Religious Affairs

Grace Tobin, Patrick Begley, Mary Fallon and Meghna Bali - Locking Up Kids - Four Corners, ABC

Outstanding Reporting on the Environment

Karla Grant, Michael Carey, Greg Wilesmith and Max Harach - Western Australia's "Cultural Genocide" - Living Black, NITV

The Peter Frillingos Award for Outstanding Sport Reporting

Hagar Cohen, Alex McDonald and Alice Mulheron - Paralympic Scandal: Gaming the Games - Four Corners, ABC

The Cliff Neville Award for Outstanding Team Player or Mentor

The Rebecca Wilson Award for Scoop of the Year

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros - PwC Tax Leaks Scandal - The Australian Financial Review

Student Journalist of the Year

Tyson Jackson - The University of Notre Dame

Young Journalist of The Year

Kamin Gock - ABC

PRINT/TEXT

The Peter Ruehl Award for Outstanding Columnist

Emma Kemp - Guardian Australia

The Jim Oram Award for Outstanding Feature Writing

Neil Chenoweth and Edmund Tadros - PwC Tax Leaks Scandal -The Australian Financial Review

Outstanding Travel Writing

Craig Tansley - Hollywood's Take-Down Of Paradise - Freelancer/T Australia (Australia's New York Times)

The Rod Allen Award for Racing Writer of the Year

Ben Dorries - Body of Work - News Corp

The Chris Watson Award for Regional Reporting - Print and Online

Matt Garrick - Fight for Peace - ABC News Darwin

SD Harvey Award For Short Crime Story

PG Davies - Adam Ingram

TELEVISION/VIDEO

The Gary Ticehurst Award for News Camera Coverage

James Cannon - Turkey Earthquake - Seven Network

The Mike Willesee Award for Nightly Television Current Affairs Reporting

Anne Connolly and Hannah Meagher - Investigation into the Public Trustee System -7.30, ABC

Outstanding Online Video

Mark Morri, Josh Hanrahan, Clementine Cuneo, Ben English, Anna Caldwell and Zac McLean - The War: Young Blood - The Daily Telegraph

The David Leckie AM Award for Television Current Affairs Reporting-Long Form

Nick McKenzie, Amelia Ballinger and Joel Tozer - Trafficked - 60 Minutes, Nine

The Harry Potter Award for Television News Reporting

Sarah Greenhalgh, James Cannon and Bertan Ayduk - Turkey Earthquake -7NEWS

The Paul Lockyer Award for Regional Broadcast Reporting

Matt Cunningham - Matt Cunningham leads Australian reporting on the violence that has gripped the Northern Territory - Sky News NT

AUDIO JOURNALISM

Outstanding Podcast

Jess Lodge, Melissa Downes and Adam Buncher - Hannah's Story – 9News Queensland

The Sean Flannery Award for Outstanding On the Road Radio News Reporting

Clinton Maynard - Surry Hills Fire - Radio 2GB

Outstanding Radio Current Affairs

Ben Fordham and James Willis - Barilaro's NYC Trade Job - Radio 2GB

PHOTOGRAPHY

Outstanding News Photography

Darren Howe - Saved From Above - Bendigo Advertiser, Australian Community Media

Outstanding Portrait Photography

Kate Geraghty - Defender of Bakhmut - The Sydney Morning Herald

Outstanding Sports Photography

Adam Mclean - UCI 2022 - Illawarra Mercury, Australian Community Media

The Power of the Lens: People's Choice Award

Nick Gane - 'Don't Judge' The World's Most Tattooed Man- 7 News